Tranquil Turmoil- Final Piece #1

 

IMG_0529
‘Tranquil Turmoil’ 2017, Acrylic on canvas, 100 x 100 cm

 

Finally I’m pleased to say that I am really happy with a painting! So much so that this is one of my final pieces, which shall be featured in the upcoming exhibition (exciting!!).

I wanted to incorporate something from each painting I had previously done, including colour and painting techniques. For the colour I used a mixture of Phthalo Blue, Phthalo Green and White. It is built up from many layers, beginning with a ground colour as to ensure no part of the canvas was exposed in the painting. I then used my previous technique of blending the paint into the surface in order to start building up a sense of depth, with the use of dark and light tones.

After this layer had dried, I added a further layer. I then began squirting water onto to canvas, so that the paint would drip down the canvas. I also turned the canvas around and did the same thing, as I didn’t just want the drips to go down one side.

To finalise the painting, I splattered white paint onto the canvas, as I felt this effect worked well in some of my previous paintings.

This piece was painted when I was depressed. However, I also felt a sense of calm. It is a strange feeling, being both depressed and yet calm at the same time. Its like being depressed, but at the same time feeling calm about it, as if you’re so used to being depressed you sort of accept it. That probably isn’t the most healthiest thing in the world, but it can be better than panic attacks and feeling extremely depressed or anxious.

Leave a comment